Roadtrip to Durham, NC

This past weekend I took a ride down to Durham to visit some friends at Duke University. During my stay in the eclectic city, I was able to sample many of the various cuisines the city has to offer. My culinary tour of the area began with some North Carolina BBQ– ribs, mac and cheese, hushpuppies, pulled pork. etc. While Southern cuisine has never been my favorite as I was raised primarily on the Mediterranean diet, Q Shack seemed like an appropriate stop to make. I was told Q Shack wasn’t a truly authentic example of North Carolina barbeque by a native (so picky) but I think it did the trick.

Steak Frites at Vin Rouge

Steak Frites at Vin Rouge

For dinner I went to a great spot called Vin Rouge. Reasonably priced and delicious, this little French bistro not only had great food but also had a pretty extensive wine list. It is a great place for a romantic date or a group dinner. I ordered a beet salad that offered a generous portion of lettuce, beets, and goat cheese, and a tasty pot of mussels in white wine, thyme, and shallots. I also sampled the New York Strip with crispy french fries. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area. If only DC had a few more places with great food at those prices. It did remind me a bit of Bistrot Lepic up Wisconsin Avenue in Georgetown.

My weekend ended with a late-night trip to Cosmic Cantina for a burrito for the road. I love burritos and this place did not dissapoint. It is the definition of a hole in the wall– you need to walk through the door for a ballet studio and up the stairs to find it. Dirt cheap food and beer, this place is great for college kids and anyone craving Mexican.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

